(8-29-18) Since 1996 the American Hosta Growers Association has named a ‘Hosta of the Year’ (HOTY), that is 23, including 2019 hosta Lakeside Paisley Print.

Many of those HOTY plants are well known to us and many show up in our collections and breeders have used many of them to create new hosta hybrids.

A lot of interesting observations on the entire list of HOTYs.

Fragrant Bouquet - Bobs.jpg

Picture courtesy Hollywood Bob’s Hosta Farm – you can purchase the above on an auction taking place until Sunday, September 2, 7pm CST

The very first HOTY was So Sweet in 1996 that was a hybrid of Fragrant Bouquet, two years later Fragrant Bouquet would pick up the same honor. In 2002 a Fragrant Bouquet sport, Guacamole, was selected, followed by Stained Glass in 2006 a sport of Guacamole. Pretty impressive heritage line.

The trend lately in the world of hosta has been to develop hybrids (streaker, reds), but 14 of the 23 (61%) HOTY winners have come from sports.

Those who create these winners are a big part of the development process in the world of hosta. Bob Solberg, who is well known with his work in the development of the hosta,  has been a part of four of these winners (2002, 2010, 2015, 2016). Others that had a part in multiple HOTY winners include ***Paul Aden (1996, 1998,  2004), Hans Hansen (2006, 2009) and Mark Zillis (2015, 2018).

American Hosta Growers Association ‘Hosta of the Year‘ Award Winners

The American Hosta Growers Association established the AHGA Hosta of the Year in 1996. It is selected by a vote of AHGA members. Award winners are hostas that are good garden plants in all regions of the country, are widely available and in sufficient supply and retail for about $15.00 in the year of selection

1996 ‘So Sweet’ (‘Fragrant Bouquet’ x ‘Aden 462’) ***(Kevin Vaughn/Paul Aden/AHS 1986)
1997 ‘Patriot’ (‘Francee’ sport) (John Machen, Jr. 1991)
1998 ‘Fragrant Bouquet’ (‘Fascination’ x ‘Fragrant Summer’) ***(Kevin Vaughn – Paul Aden 1982)
1999 ‘Paul’s Glory’ (‘Perry’s True Blue’ sport) (Paul Hofer/Pete Ruh 1987)
2000 ‘Sagae’ (fluctuans sport) (Kenji Watanabe 1996)
2001 ‘June’ (‘Halcyon’ sport) (Neo Plants Ltd. 1991)
2002 ‘Guacamole’ (‘Fragrant Bouquet’ sport) (Bob Solberg 1994)
2003 ‘Regal Splendor’ (‘Krossa Regal’ sport) (Walters Gardens 1987)
2004 ‘Sum and Substance’ (unknown) ***(Florence Shaw/Paul Aden 1980)
2005 ‘Striptease’ (‘Gold Standard’ sport) (Criss & Rick Thompson 1991)
2006 ‘Stained Glass’ (‘Guacamole’ sport) (Hans Hansen 1999)
2007 ‘Paradigm’ (‘Abiqua Recluse’ sport) (Walden West/Chuck Purtymun 1999)
2008 ‘Blue Mouse Ears’(‘Blue Cadet’ sport) (Emile & Jane Deckert 2000)
2009 ‘Earth Angel’ (‘Blue Angel’ sport) (Hans Hansen 2002)
2010 ‘First Frost’ (‘Halcyon’ sport) (Patricia Scolnik/Bob Solberg 2002)
2011 ‘Praying Hands’ (unknown) (Jerry Williams 1996)
2012 ‘Liberty’ (‘Sagae’ sport) (John Machen, Jr. 2000)
2013 ‘Rainforest Sunrise’ (Maui Buttercups’ sport) (Winterberry Farms/Jim Anderson 2003)
2014 ‘Abiqua Drinking Gourd’ (Tokudama’ x sieboldiana) (Walden West 1989)
2015 ‘Victory’ (Elatior’ sport) (Mark Zilis/Bob Solberg 2003)
2016 ‘Curly Fries’ (Pineapple Upsidedown Cake seedling) (Bob Solberg 2008)
2017 ‘Brother Stefan’ (‘King Tut’ x Mildred Seaver’) (Olga Petryszyn 1998)
2018 ‘World Cup’ (‘Komodo Dragon’ x ‘Super Bowl’) (Doug Beilstein/Mark Zilis 2006)
2019 ‘Lakeside Paisley Print’ (Mary Chastain 2006) – buy online at Land of the Giants for $20.00

***Background on issues with Paul Aden hosta-(original story updated after being made aware of this situation)